Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


All Hallows Church
Savernake Road
Gospel Oak



Edward ElgarThe Music Makers, Op.69
Frederick DeliusSea Drift (Poem by Walt Whitman)
Frederick DeliusA village Romeo and Juliet: Walk to the Paradise Garden


Catherine Hopper – mezzo-soprano
Marcus Farnsworth – baritone
Ronald Corp – Conductor

Highgate Choral Society
New London Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Our first concert of 2017 is an all-British affair featuring two towering figures of 20th-century music, Delius and Elgar.

The concert begins with the highly attractive Walk to the Paradise Garden, an orchestral interlude from Delius's opera, A Village Romeo and Juliet. The motion of waves is suggested throughout by the orchestra in Sea Drift, while the choir sings the tale of a pair of mocking birds nesting on the sea shore in a setting by Walt Whitman.

In The Music Makers Elgar also sets an entire poem, Ode by Arthur O'Shaughnessy, to much original music punctuated with quotes from previous compositions including The Dream of GerontiusSea Pictures, the First Symphony, the Enigma Variations and Rule, Britannia.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.