Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


The Assembly Hall
Stoke Abbott Road
West Sussex
BN11 1HQ


Karol SzymanowskiViolin Concerto no.2, Op.61
Edvard GriegPeer Gynt suite no.1: Morning
Edvard GriegPeer Gynt suite no.1, Op.46: In the Hall of the Mountain King
Pyotr TchaikovskySymphony no.4, Op.36


Nicola Benedetti – violin
John Gibbons – Conductor

Worthing Symphony Orchestra

Programme Note

Nicola Benedetti is one of the most sought after violinists of her generation. Her ability to captivate audiences has made her one of today’s most influential classical artists. She returns to Worthing following her sell-out appearance in June, to play Karol Szymanowski’s 2nd Violin Concerto. The second half features Tchaikovsky's highly emotional Symphony No 4. Even the opening bars of the first movement are intended to represent a metaphor for Fate, or, as Tchaikovsky put it: "the fatal power which prevents one from attaining the goal of happiness".

Nicola Benedetti

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.