Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Barbican Hall
Silk Street


Alexey ShorBarcarolle
John Ter-TatevosianSymphony no. 2 'The Fate of Man'
~ Interval ~
Max BruchViolin Concerto no.1 in G minor, Op.26
Maurice RavelTzigane


Maxim Vengerov – violin
Sergey Smbatyan – Conductor

Armenian State Symphony Orchestra

Programme Note

On their European Tour organized by the European Foundation for Support of Culture, the Armenian State Symphony Orchestra will be performing at the Barbican Centre (14 January 2020). Under the baton of Sergey Smbatyan, celebrated violinist Maxim Vengerov will undertake Bruch’s Violin Concerto No. 1 and Ravel’s Tzigane, alongside an emotive Barcarolle by American-Maltese composer Alexey Shor which explores human feelings in a particular moment of time. 

The ASSO will also present the European Premiere of John Ter-Tatevosian’s Symphony No.2 “The Fate of Man”, an enlightening piece marvelling at the human ability to cope with catastrophe. Inspired by Mikhail Sholokhov’s short story of the same name, the work is about a truck driver who is forced to join the army during WWII before being wounded and captured in a concentration. The piece is flooded with feeling, and marvels at the human ability to cope with catastrophe through love of life and a strong will.


Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.