Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Brighton Dome Concert Hall
Church Street
East Sussex


Carl Maria von WeberOberon: Overture
Sergey ProkofievViolin Concerto no.1, Op.19
~ Interval ~
Johannes BrahmsSymphony no.3 in F major, Op.90


Matthew Trusler – violin
Barry Wordsworth – Conductor

Brighton Philharmonic Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Carl Maria von Weber was commissioned to write “a Romantic Opera” to be performed in English in London’s Covent Garden in 1826. The strain of the rehearsals away from home destroyed his health and he died in London only two months after the first performance. The opera, Oberon, became hugely popular, though nowadays only the overture is performed regularly.

In contrast Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No.1 is an early work written when the composer was only 26. He had already developed a reputation as a musical revolutionary, however he felt stifled by the political revolution in Russia and emigrated to the USA. His first violin concerto was written at the same time as his Classical Symphony which the Brighton Philharmonic performed two seasons ago.

Symphony No.3 completes the orchestra’s performances of all Brahms’ symphonies over recent seasons. It was considered by the contemporary music critic Hanslick to be “the most perfect” of Brahms’ symphonies. It has certainly remained popular ever since and has appeared on the soundtracks of several films.

Matthew Trusler

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.