Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Cadogan Hall
5 Sloane Terrace


Edward ElgarSerenade for String Orchestra in E Minor, Op.20
Dmitry ShostakovichChamber Symphony, Op.110a
~ Interval ~
Leoš JanáčekSuite for Strings
Edward ElgarIntroduction and Allegro, Op.47


Paul Barritt – Leader
David Cutts – Conductor

The 23 String Orchestra

Programme Note

*** Start time is 7:30 PM ***

This is the first concert by the newly-formed orchestra ‘The 23’ dedicated to the string orchestra repertoire.

This is great music, often appearing in the shadow of larger orchestral works. The aim of the founder of The 23, conductor David Cutts, working in conjunction with chamber musician and leader Paul Barritt, is to bring this great music to the concert hall with fine players and sufficient rehearsal to reveal it well.

The works in this programme include two of Elgar’s masterpieces from 1892 and 1905 framing Janáček’s youthful but enchanting Suite from 1877 and Barshai’s arrangement for string orchestra of Shostakovich’s most played quartet, the Eighth. This piece is highly personal and dedicated “to the victims of fascism and the war”. It was written in an intense three days in Dresden and premiered in 1960. The string orchestra version brings it even greater intensity.

The 23  String Orchestra

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.