Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Cheltenham Town Hall
Imperial Square
GL50 1QA


Ludwig van BeethovenCoriolan Overture, Op.62
Ludwig van BeethovenViolin Concerto in D major, Op.61
~ Interval ~
Ludwig van BeethovenSymphony no.4 in B flat major, Op.60


Chloë Hanslip – violin
Thomas Sanderling – Conductor

English Symphony Orchestra

Programme Note

Beethoven’s Fourth Symphony and Violin Concerto came to life at the same time, yet between them they reflect the full breadth of his creative genius. The searching spirituality of the monumental Violin Concerto is brought to life by the young virtuoso Chloë Hanslip, already recognised as one of the great soloists of her generation.

In the second half, the invigorated ESO, fast becoming Town Hall favourites, bring artistry and passion to Beethoven’s rustic and humorous Fourth Symphony, a surprisingly bright and cheerful work, sandwiched between his 3rd and 5th – two titans of 19th century symphonic writing.

Pre-Concert Talk (6.30pm to 7pm): Presented by ESO assistant conductor, Michael Young.
Free entry using your ticket for tonight’s concert.

Chloë Hanslip

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.