Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Conway Hall
25 Red Lion Square



Joseph HaydnString Quartet no.66 in G major 'Lobkowitz', Op.77 no.1, Hob III:81
Leoš JanáčekString Quartet no.1 'Kreutzer Sonata'
Frank BridgeString Quartet no.4, H.188


Gildas Quartet

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Christopher Jones (violin)
Gemma Sharples (violin)
Kay Stephen (viola)
Anna Menzies (cello)

***Special Post-concert event***

'Music-in-Motion' presentation and discussion

In the final part of the concert, Gildas String Quartet will present Janacek's Kreutzer Sonata Quartet (ca 17 minutes) using a vivid and dramatic new performance concept conceived by John Landor.

Playing from memory, and free from the encumbrance of music stands and chairs, the quartet will become embodied protagonists of the musical drama, performing in the centre of the audience.

Drinks in hand, you can sit, lounge on a cushion (or even lie down!) and immerse yourself in both sound and sight of this haunting work, in an evocatively lit setting.

It will be a social event too, a chance to meet the musicians afterwards and share your experience with the producer and other audience members in an open discussion.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.