Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


De Montfort Hall
Granville Road


Karl JenkinsThe Armed Man (A Mass for Peace)
Gerald FinziFarewell To Arms
Edward ElgarThe Spirit of England, Op.80


Stephen Bullamore – Conductor
Mark Wilde – Tenor
Samantha Lewis – mezzo-soprano
Helena Townsend – mezzo-soprano
Aaron Kendall – baritone

Leicester Philharmonic Choir
Viva Chamber Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Samantha Lewis, Helena Townsend, Aaron Kendall appear by kind permission of Birmingham Conservatoire.

All the works in this concert, written at different times in the 20th Century, use poetry to highlight the horrors of war and a Quest for Peace. In performing these works, we mark the centenary of 1919 when world leaders sought to establish international cooperation for peace after WW1 and went on to form the League of Nations, forerunner of the United Nations.


A Quest for Peace

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.