Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


De Montfort Hall
Granville Road


Edward ElgarSerenade for String Orchestra in E Minor, Op.20
Edward ElgarCello Concerto in E minor, Op.85
~ Interval ~
Edward ElgarSymphony no.1 in A flat major, Op.55


Claus Efland – Conductor
Lydia Shelley – cello

Bardi Symphony Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

The Bardi’s De Montfort Hall season finale sees three works showing different sides of one of England’s greatest composers, Sir Edward Elgar. The first half has the delightful String Serenade contrasting strongly with the passionate and powerful Cello Concerto. The mighty First Symphony brings the concert to a magnificent conclusion with one of Elgar’s most inspired themes. 

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.