Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


De Montfort Hall
Granville Road


Johann Strauss I (the Elder)Radetzky March, Op.228
Johann Strauss II (the Younger)The Blue Danube
Johann Strauss II (the Younger)Unter Donner und Blitz, Op.324
Johann Strauss II (the Younger)Pizzicato Polka
Johann Strauss II (the Younger)Tritsch-Tratsch-Polka, Op.214
Johann Strauss II (the Younger)Die Fledermaus: Overture


John Suchet – Narrator

Leicester Symphony Orchestra

Programme Note

Classic FM host John Suchet is now as much known for his passion for music as he is for his work in journalism. In this lively concert the Leicester Symphony Orchestra prepares to have a Viennese ball as John introduces a whole host of waltzes and polkas composed by the Strauss family.

Renowned as one of the foremost Beethoven experts, John has turned his attention to the Strauss family and will be revealing insights the famous family to bring a new angle to some of the most popular music ever performed.

To include: Johann Strauss’ Overture Die Fledermaus, Tritsch-Tratsch Polka, Blue Danube and more.

6.30pm Free pre-concert talk with John Suchet.

John Suchet

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.