Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Eastgate Theatre & Arts Centre
Scottish Borders
EH45 8AD


Richard StraussString Sextet from 'Capriccio', Op.85
Erich Wolfgang KorngoldString Sextet in D major, Op.10
~ Interval ~
Felix MendelssohnString Octet in E flat major, Op.20


Aurea String Quartet
Gildas Quartet

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Come and hear one of the most exciting new collaborations in UK chamber music. These two dynamic young string quartets have already established impressive reputations, and accumulated numerous awards, and are now joining forces to play larger-scale repertoire.

Mendelssohn’s glorious octet, written when he was only sixteen, remains the greatest work in this genre and brings our season to a magnificent close. Preceding it are two works for string sextet, the first being the bitter- sweet movement that Strauss wrote as an introduction to his final opera, ‘Capriccio’. Completing the programme is another teenage work of genius, by Erich Wolfgang Korngold, whose richly-textured string sextet is widely regarded as his finest chamber work.

For full details, please visit the Music in Peebles website.

Aurea & Gildas String Quartets

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.