Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


English Martyrs Catholic School
Anstey Lane


Edward ElgarSerenade for String Orchestra in E Minor, Op.20
Antonín DvořákSerenade for Wind Instruments, Op.44
Leonard BernsteinDance Suite for brass quintet
Joseph HaydnSymphony no.104 in D major 'London', Hob.I:104


Leicester Symphony Orchestra

Programme Note

In contrast with our usual large-scale orchestral works, this repertoire showcases the fantastic chamber works of hugely successful composers from contrasting periods of the Western classical music canon. We begin with Elgar's Serenade for Strings, a highly acclaimed and emotionally moving work from the early period of the composer's career. After the mournful yet stately Wind Serenade by Dvorak, and jazz- and blues-inspired Dance Suite by Bernstein, Haydn's famous 'London' Symphony, a work for the small-scale classical orchestra, will conclude the evening.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.