Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Heritage Centre
Roe Street
SK11 6UT


Wolfgang Amadeus MozartClarinet Quintet in A major, K.581
Franz SchubertErlkönig, D.328
~ Interval ~
Franz SchubertString Quintet, D.956


Matthew Sharp – cello
Liz Jordan – clarinet
Nicholas Ward – Leader

Northern Chamber Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

The now traditional NCO soloists concert in April features our regular string quartet who will be joined this year by our principal clarinet, Liz Jordan and one of our Associate Artists, baritone and cellist, Matthew Sharp. The concert opens with Mozart’s magnificent Clarinet Quintet, a piece redolent of the golden warmth of Così fan Tutte. The two works were composed almost side by side it seems and the original sketch for the finale of the quintet became “Ah, lo veggio”. Matthew Sharp, an extraordinary musician and performer, will then make an appearance first as baritone soloist in Schubert’s haunting Erlkönig, before then reappearing with cello in hand after the interval to join the NCO soloists for a performance of Schubert’s C major string quintet, the slow movement of which, Artur Rubinstein famously described as depicting “the entrance to Heaven”.

Matthew Sharp, cello

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.