Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Hindhead Music Centre
Hindhead Road
GU26 6BA


Ludwig van BeethovenPiano Trio in B flat major 'Archduke', Op.97
Olivier MessiaenQuartet for the End of Time


Emma Lisney – violin
Joy Lisney – cello
James Lisney – piano
Michael Whight – clarinet

Lisney Trio

Programme Note

Music which carries a momentous emotional weight comprises this concert recital of two of the most significant chamber works of the past two centuries.

Beethoven’s Archduke Trio, completed in 1814 and one of the composer’s final public performances, is considered to be his finest – if not the finest – for piano trio

Completed in 1811, the trio is, like the Eroica Symphony, striking for the grandeur of its dimensions and the profundity of its expression.

Messiaen’s Quartet for the End of Time – for piano trio with clarinet – was premiered in January 1941 at Stalag VIIIA, a prisoner of war camp in Görlitz, Germany.

The composer dedicated it ‘in homage to the Angel of the Apocalypse, who raises his hand towards Heaven saying "There shall be no more time."’

From an evocation of morning birdsong, through fiercely concentrated and rhythmically complex dance music, the music intensifies to depictions of the coming cataclysm.

The Lisney Trio, a family of distinguished musicians who each enjoy significant solo careers, are joined by renowned clarinettist Michael Whight.


The Lisney Trio

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.