Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Kings Place
90 York Way
Kings Cross

N1 9AG


Ludwig van BeethovenString Trio in G major, Op.9 no.1
Benjamin BrittenPhantasy Quartet for oboe and string trio, Op.2
Claude DebussyPrelude à l'après-midi d'un faune
Peter FribbinsLa Mirande


Philippe Graffin – violin
Capucine Prin – oboe
Roger Chase – viola
Lidy Blijdorp – cello

Programme Note

The famous French violinist Philippe Graffin is joined by friends Capucine Prin (oboe), Roger Chase (viola) and Lidy Blijdorp (cello), in a programme that features three oboe quartets. Mozart’s beautifully lyrical quartet is contrasted with Britten’s characterful but terser and more concentrated ‘Phantasy’ quartet. The new oboe quartet by Peter Fribbins is different again, inspired by the amazing music of French medieval composer Matheus de Sancto Johanne, who served the Avignon Pope in the late 1300s. Between these works comes Beethoven’s impressive G major String Trio, full of drive and energy, and an imaginative new arrangement for duo of Debussy’s famous Prélude by Robert Zuidam.


Part of the London Chamber Music Sunday Concerts series

More information

Philippe Graffin

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.