Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Kings Place
90 York Way
Kings Cross

N1 9AG


Ludwig van BeethovenString Quartet no.11 in F minor 'Serioso', Op.95
Ludwig van BeethovenViolin Sonata no.10 in G major, Op.96
David MatthewsSonatina (Companion Piece to Beethoven's Violin Sonata in G, Op. 96)
Ludwig van BeethovenPiano Trio in B flat major 'Archduke', Op.97


Christoph Richter – cello
Krysia Osostowicz – violin
Daniel Tong – piano

Dante Quartet

Programme Note

A rare chance to hear these three consecutive masterpieces in a single recital.

It is extraordinary to think that Beethoven was writing the terse and turbulent 'Serioso' quartet at the same time as his monumental 'Archduke' trio, with all its lyrical warmth. The following year he produced his final violin sonata, a work of profound lyricism, on the verge of his late style and with much in common with the 'Archduke'.

David Matthews has written his Sonatina in response to Op. 96, reflecting the structure of Beethoven’s sonata in miniature.

St Pancras Room, 6.30pm – Pre-concert talk with composers and performers. Free, but a ticket is required. Please call the Box Office on 020 7520 1490 to book.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.