Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Landmark Arts Centre
Ferry road

TW11 9NN


Edward ElgarConcert Overture 'In the South', Op.50
Naresh SohalViolin Concerto
~ Interval ~
Ralph Vaughan WilliamsThe Lark Ascending
Ralph Vaughan WilliamsA London Symphony (Symphony no.2)


Victoria Haeyoung Baek – violin

Thames Philharmonia

Programme Note

An evening of glorious music with a distinctly English flavor. The heroic themes and romantic interludes of Elgar's expansive overture In the South opens the concert. Young Korean violinist Victoria Baek will perform the English premiere of an exciting new violin concerto by Naresh Sohal, composer of the acclaimed Cosmic Dance performed at the 2013 BBC Proms. Naresh constructs a sound world which is at once highly distinctive yet completely accessible. Victoria then takes wing in the idyllic and ever-popular Lark Ascending by Vaughan Williams, whose 2nd, "A London Symphony" concludes the programme.

Victoria Baek

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.