Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Lichfield Cathedral
19A The Close
WS13 7LD


Gustav HolstEgdon Heath, Op.47
Edward ElgarCello Concerto in E minor, Op.85
~ Interval ~
Johannes BrahmsSymphony no.3 in F major, Op.90


Ryan Bancroft – Conductor
Senja Rummukainen – Cello

BBC National Orchestra of Wales

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

As part of Lichfield Festival's Holst150 season, BBC National Orchestra of Wales plays his tone poem Egdon Heath, inspired by Thomas Hardy's fictional landscape.  It's followed by Elgar's poignant and popular Cello Concerto (played by Finnish cellist Senja Rummukainen who also plays this work at the BBC Proms later this year), and Brahms's glorious Third Symphony.

Senja Rummukainen

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.