Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


LSO St Luke's
161 Old St


Igor StravinskyThree Movements from Petrushka
Sergei RachmaninovSymphonic Dances for two pianos, Op.45


Philip Moore – piano
Simon Crawford-Phillips – piano

Programme Note

Rachmaninoff’s life and career crossed over the 19th and 20th centuries, and took him from Europe to the US. In this series we hear his music alongside works by his friends and contemporaries.

Rachmaninoff and Stravinsky were friends as well as rivals, and today the powerhouse piano duo of Simon Crawford Phillips and Philip Moore play two of their most colourful masterpieces.

Exiled by war and revolution, Rachmaninoff and Stravinsky became neighbours in – of all places – Beverly Hills. In the first of four concerts devoted to Rachmaninoff and his circle, pianists Simon Crawford Phillips and Philip Moore play Rachmaninoff’s bittersweet love-letter to new worlds and old, the Symphonic Dances, as well as Petrushka, Stravinsky’s dazzling, thrillingly physical reinvention of a Russia that never was.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.