Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


LSO St Luke's
161 Old St


Toru TakemitsuRocking Mirror Daybreak
Thomas AdèsCourt Studies
Bohuslav MartinůLa Revue de Cuisine (The Kitchen Revue)
Felix MendelssohnString Octet in E flat major, Op.20
Manu DelagoMusic for Two Acoustic Toothbrushes


Nicholas Collon – Conductor
Stanton Media – visuals
Manu Delago – hang / percussion

Aurora Orchestra

Programme Note

An extraordinarily versatile performer and composer whose regular collaborators include Icelandic superstar Björk, Manu Delago has pioneered the mesmerising sound of the hang - an instrument that looks like an upturned wok and produces a resonance somewhere between a harp and a tabla.

For the last concert in the 2014 New Moves series, he joins Aurora Orchestra as they roam about the rooms of a house, with music including a jazz-infused ‘kitchen ballet’ by Martinů, a major new commission, Secret Corridor, from Delago himself, and Mendelssohn’s Octet, one of the greatest living-room sized works ever penned. They might even settle in for some afternoon TV on the sofa...

Aurora Orchestra: House

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.