Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Manchester Cathedral
Victoria Street
M3 1SX


Johann Strauss II (the Younger)Die Fledermaus: Overture
Johann Strauss II (the Younger)The Blue Danube
Pyotr TchaikovskySleeping Beauty: Waltz
Pyotr TchaikovskyThe Nutcracker Suite, Op.71a
Pyotr TchaikovskyThe Nutcracker Suite, Op.71a
Johannes BrahmsHungarian Dance no.5 in G minor
Johann Strauss II (the Younger)Tritsch-Tratsch-Polka, Op.214


London Concertante

Programme Note

Tchaikovsky’s elegant Nutcracker Suite leads on from Brahms’ serious Hungarian Dance No.5, before Strauss II introduces us to the boundless exuberance of the Polish March in his Trisch-Trasch Polka. In the concert’s penultimate work Tchaikovsky transports the evening to the magical halls of snowy Tsarist Russia with a regal waltz from his ballet Sleeping Beauty. The evening reaches its climax with the famous Blue Danube Waltz, not only proving the crowning jewel of a fabulous night’s worth of music, but the coronation of Johann Strauss II as the master of the Viennese waltz.

London Concertante

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.