Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Middlesbrough Town Hall
Albert Road
North Yorkshire


Frédéric ChopinPiano Concerto no.1 in E minor, Op.11
~ Interval ~
Grażyna BacewiczConcerto for String Orchestra
Franz SchubertSymphony no.3 in D major, D.200


Marta Gardolinska – Conductor
Lukas Geniušas – Piano

Royal Northern Sinfonia

Programme Note

Chopin was a dreamer – but he was a revolutionary too, and one writer described his music as “cannons hidden in flowers”. One thing’s for sure, though: our piano soloist Lukas Geniušas won’t stint on either poetry or power. Guest conductor Marta Gardolinska conducts the teenage Schubert’s joyous Third Symphony, and shares a discovery from her native Poland – the brilliant, supercharged Concerto by Grazyna Bacewicz.

Marta Gardolinska

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.