Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Middlesbrough Town Hall
Albert Road
North Yorkshire


Johannes BrahmsPiano Concerto no.2 in B flat major, Op.83
JustÄ— JanulytÄ—Elongation of Nights
~ Interval ~
Robert SchumannSymphony no.4, Op.120


Dinis Sousa – Conductor
Sunwook Kim – Piano

Royal Northern Sinfonia

Programme Note

Think of tonight’s concert as a sandwich. Two delicious slices of music from the Romantic era surround a delicate and tangy filling. ‘Elongation of Nights’ is full of exquisite shimmering strings, starting as a fine thread of sound before broadening to something urgent and insistent, before fading back to a memory.

Brahms’ epic second concerto starts your evening off, while Schumann’s symphony is intense, grabbing your attention right from the start, and closes your night in thrilling style.

Find out more about the music in our free pre-concert talks which take place one hour before the performance starts.

Sunwook Kim

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.