Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


New Theatre Royal
20-24 Guildhall Walk


Gustav HolstSt Paul's Suite, Op.29 no.2
Wolfgang Amadeus MozartDivertimento in D major, K.136/125a
Robin HollowayOde for Four Winds and Strings, Op.45
Wolfgang Amadeus MozartSymphony no.5 in B flat major, K.22
Leo GeyerNew Commission
Joseph HaydnSymphony no.44 in E minor 'Mourning', Hob.I:44


Stephanie Gonley – violin / director

English Chamber Orchestra

Programme Note

‚ÄčIn 1765, HMS Victory was launched and the nine-year old Mozart wrote his Fifth Symphony. 


English Chamber Orchestra presents Sailing the Centuries a musical celebration ranging from the 18th to the 21st century. Alongside Mozart the evening features pieces by Holst, Haydn, the rediscovered 20th century genius Grace Williams and a new work by young British composer Leo Geyer – each one as varied, as passionate and as timeless as the sea itself.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.