Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Oakham School Chapel
Chapel Close
LE15 6DT


Carl Maria von WeberEuryanthe, Op.81
Edward ElgarAir de Ballet
Edward ElgarCockaigne Overture, Op.40
Edward ElgarSursum Corda, Op.11
Gustav HolstFugal Concerto, Op.40 no.2
Johannes BrahmsDouble Concerto for Violin and Cello in A minor, Op.102


Eduardo Vassallo – cello
Diego Vassallo – violin

Rutland Sinfonia

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Our 40th Anniversary Concert sees Conductor Emeritus Barry Collett return alongside Paul Hilliam.

The concert features the composer most associated with the Sinfonia; Sire Edward Elgar and we will be performing one of his early works, Air de Ballet for the first time since 1882 (a premier in our lifetimes).  Sursum Corda was written for a special service to welcome the future George V to Worcester Cathedral in 1894 and is scored for Strings, Brass and Organ.

We are also delighted to welcome back Eduardo Vassallo alongside his so Diego to perform the Double Concwerto by Brahms for this special concert.

Tickets available online fron Oundle Box Office and walk in from Oakham Wines,

Register now and list your events

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.