Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Oxford Town Hall
Saint Aldate's


Igor StravinskySymphony in Three Movements
Felix MendelssohnPiano Concerto no.1, Op.25
~ Interval ~
Antonín DvořákSymphony no.7, Op.70


Magdalene Ho – piano

Oxford Symphony Orchestra

Programme Note

Dvořák's seventh symphony is often said to be his finest and also to be one of the most glorious of all symphonies, richly melodic and a work of depth and passion.

Mendelssohn's First Piano Concerto is virtuosic and sparkles with brilliance and lyricism. Our soloist is the highly talented young pianist Magdalene Ho.

Stravinsky composed his Symphony in Three movements in 1942-45, after emigrating to the USA. He said it had links in his imagination with cinematographic images of war and the music itself has echoes of his ballet score The Rite of Spring.

Magdalene Ho

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.