Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Bradshaw Hall - Royal Birmingham Conservatoire
Birmingham City University
Jennens Road

B4 7XR


Thea MusgraveGreen
Ludwig van BeethovenPiano Concerto no.3 in C minor, Op.37
Wolfgang Amadeus MozartPiano Concerto no.12 in A major, K.414/385p


Andrew Griffiths – Conductor
Luke Jones – piano
Domonkos Csabay – piano

Orchestra of the Swan

Programme Note

OOTS is delighted to welcome Luke Jones, winner of the Bromsgrove International Musicians’ Competition 2018. Luke will be performing Beethoven Piano Concerto no1, premiered in 1803 with the composer himself as the soloist. One of the Royal Conservatoire of Birmingham’s rising stars, winner of the Conservatoire Concerto Prize, will also join OOTS and Andrew Griffiths, a dynamic and versatile young conductor with a particular flair for opera and choral music. The concert ends with a short work by Thea Musgrave, who feels it represents either the freshness of youth or the plant life in our world on which we all depend.

Pre-concert talk: 1.30pm
Chris Morley (Music Critic, Birmingham Post), Thea Musgrave, our competition winner and a student from the composition department discuss the challenges and demands faced by young classical composers and soloists today.
Concert: 2.30pm

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.