Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Royal Festival Hall
Southbank Centre
Belvedere Rd



Ralph Vaughan WilliamsFantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis
Sergei RachmaninovPiano Concerto no.4, Op.40
Pyotr TchaikovskySymphony no.1 'Winter Daydreams', Op.13


Osmo Vänskä – Conductor
Nikolai Lugansky – piano

London Philharmonic Orchestra

Programme Note

Delve into Rachmaninoff's Fourth Piano Concerto, alongside dreamy works by Tchaikovsky and Vaughan Williams.

Rachmaninoff's Fourth Piano Concerto is a work of magnetic impulse and fascinating psychological undertones.

It's also full of those long, burgeoning melodies that make Rachmaninoff's music so distinctive.

His own final, revised version of the Concerto is performed here by Nikolai Lugansky, one of the finest Rachmaninoff pianists around, and is followed by the icy delicacy of Tchaikovsky's First Symphony, Winter Daydreams.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.