Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Royal Festival Hall
Southbank Centre
Belvedere Rd



Gabriel PiernéOuverture from Suite no.1 from Ramuntcho
Gabriel PiernéSuite from Ramuntcho
Francis PoulencConcerto in D minor for two pianos
Maurice RavelRapsodie espagnole
Claude DebussyLa Mer


Juanjo Mena – Conductor
Katia Labèque – piano
Marielle Labèque – piano

London Philharmonic Orchestra

Programme Note

Spaniard Juanjo Mena conducts four French works, with the odd glance over to Spain.

The surging currents and surface spray of Debussy's La mer stand in total contrast to the punchy, knockabout attitude of Poulenc's acerbic Concerto for Two Pianos.

Ravel's lifelong affection for Spain radiates through every bar of his red-hot Rapsodie espagnole, and to begin comes music by France's precursor to Serge Rachmaninoff, Gabriel Pierné.

His incidental music to Pierre Loti's 1897 novel-turned-play Ramuntcho is full of the passion, fervour and local colour of the play's Basque Country setting.

Supported by Palazzetto Bru Zane - Centre de musique romantique française.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.