Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall
University of York
YO10 5DD


Johann David HeinichenOrchestral Suite in G major, S.205: Overture
Henry PurcellFantasia 'Upon one note', Z.745 no.14
Johann Friedrich FaschConcerto for Flute and Oboe, FaWV L:G8
Antonio VivaldiConcerto for flute and oboe, FaWV L:G8
Johann Heinrich SchmelzerDie Fechtschule ('The Fencing School')
Georg Philipp TelemannOverture for 2 oboes and strings in C minor, TWV 55:c4
George Frideric HandelOrgan Concerto in F major, HWV 292
Henry PurcellKing Arthur Suite, Z.628


Alison Nairn – flute
Anna Benton – oboe
Campbell William – organ
Lucy Russell – Director
Rachel Gray – Director
Jennifer Cohen – Director

University of York Baroque Ensemble

Programme Note

University Baroque Ensemble presents a delightful and intriguing selection of works from the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. Its programme comprises a range of styles and forms, sound-worlds and colours and textures and orchestration, with pieces by Purcell, Vivaldi and Telemann. Second-year student William Campbell is the soloist in Handel’s Organ Concerto no. 4, and postgraduate Alison Nairn and final-year student Anna Benton perform Fasch’s Concerto for Flute and Oboe.

University of York Baroque Ensemble

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.