Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall
University of York
YO10 5DD


Camille Saint-SaensIntroduction and Rondo Capriccioso in A minor, Op.28


University of York Chamber Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Mozart wrote that the opening movement of his Haffner Symphony ‘must be played with great fire.’ Commissioned by the affluent Haffner family of Salzburg, the symphony was originally composed as a serenade to be performed at the ennoblement of Sigmund Haffner in 1782. Notable for its grand and energetic character, as well as the graceful and lyrical beauty of its slow movement, the Haffner Symphony has become one of Mozart’s most popular orchestral works. The programme also includes Weber’s First Clarinet Concerto and Saint-Saëns’ Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso, with third-year students Pip Tall and Michael Capecci as soloists. These two virtuosic works feature alongside Latvian composer Pēteris Vasks’ ethereal piece for string orchestra Epifania (‘Epiphany’) and the first performance of postgraduate student Tom Sissons’ Sir Jack Lyons Celebration Award

University Chamber Orchestra

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.