Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Southwell Minster
Church Street
NG25 0HD


Zoltán KodályDances of Galánta
Richard StraussOboe Concerto, TrV 292
~ Interval ~
Johannes BrahmsSymphony no.3 in F major, Op.90


Rachael Clegg – oboe
Mark Heron – Conductor

Nottingham Philharmonic Orchestra

Programme Note

The Dances of Galanta are based on Hungarian folk music and were written in 1933 when Kodaly was 50.  The music is typical of his mature work - lively, rhythmic and accessible, while having enough of the unusual rhythms of Magyar folk music to be just slightly unpredictable!      

Richard Strauss wrote his oboe concerto in 1945 but it looks back to the stye of Mozart in its clarity and tunefulness.  Our soloist, Rachael Clegg is the principal oboist with Manchester Camerata. 

Brahms' 3rd Symphony is his most personal work with haunting melodies and featuring his musical motto 'Frei Aber Froh' - the notes F-A-F (Free but Happy).

Visit our website for more details:  Nottingham Philharmonic Orchestra 






Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.