Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Southwell Minster
Church Street
NG25 0HD


Edward ElgarCockaigne Overture, Op.40
Antonín DvořákSymphony no.8, Op.88
Nikolay Rimsky-KorsakovScheherazade, Op.35


Clare Bhabra – violin

Nottingham Philharmonic Orchestra

Programme Note

An evening of beautiful romantic music  supporting Muscular Dystrophy UK.

We begin with the Concert Overture Cockaigne by Edward Elgar. Subtitled In London Town, Elgar wrote it shortly after Dream of Gerontius.  Elgar's portrait of the Edwardian city, unpolluted by the modern roar of traffic, is lively and full of memorable tunes.

The symphonic suite Scheherazade, by Rimsky- Korsakov gives us, in the composer's own words, “a kaleidoscope of fairy- tales and designs of oriental character”. Its four inter-connected movements depict different tales, linked by the voice of the teller of tales, Scheherazade, represented by a soaring solo violin.  The solo is played by our leader Clare Bhabra, violinist with the Tedesca Quartet and Sinfonia Viva.

The final work is Dvorak's 8th symphony;  one of his finest works. It shows the composer at his happiest and most positive. A work full of inspired melodies, it reflects the composer's love of his homeland in its use of Bohemian folk dances. It has been a great favourite of British audiences ever since the composer himself conducted it in Cambridge, when he was awarded an honorary degree!



Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.