Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


St George's
Great George Street


Pyotr TchaikovskyRomeo and Juliet (fantasia-overture)
Max BruchDouble Concerto in E minor, Op.88
Dmitry ShostakovichSymphony no.5 in D minor, Op.47


Asher Zaccardelli – viola
Nicholas Shipman – clarinet
Stefan Hofkes – Conductor

Bristol Concert Orchestra

Programme Note

The thundering, sweeping, romantic drama and sumptuous melodies of Tchaikovsky's Romeo & Juliet open this concert with a nod to the Shakespeare400, before we invite two soloists onto the stage to join us for a rare performance of Bruch's gorgeous Concerto for Clarinet & Viola.

To complete this winter warmer of a concert, what is surely Shostakovich's most popular Symphony - his 5th. Written as “A Soviet Artist’s Creative Reply to Just Criticism” in the fearful times of Stalinist Russia, many hear a darker subtext lurking beneath the outward life-affirming optimism of this 20th Century symphonic masterpiece.

There will be a retiring collection for SWAN UK.

Tickets £15, £13, £10, £8 (concessions £2 discount), children £1 [+fee] are available online at

or from St George's Bristol in person, online or by phone: 0845 40 24 001

Bristol Concert Orchestra at St George's Bristol 3 Dec 2016

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.