Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


St George's
Great George Street


Dmitry ShostakovichViolin Concerto no.1 in A minor, Op.77
Aleksandr BorodinSymphony no.2 in B minor
Pyotr TchaikovskyCapriccio Italien, Op.45


Natalia Lomeiko – violin
William Goodchild – Conductor

Bristol Symphony Orchestra

Programme Note

Bristol Symphony Orchestra welcomes international concert violinist, Natalia Lomeiko, to perform Shostakovich’s intense and dramatic Violin Concerto No. 1. The piece was composed during the post-war years in Soviet Russia (1947-48), a time of severe censorship. Grounds for banning a work included anti-Soviet propaganda, lack of proper ideological perspective, and a lack of perceived artistic merit. Because of this hostile context, Shostakovich kept the concerto secret and unpublished until Stalin’s death in March 1953, and the political thaw that followed. The work received its first performance in 1955 and was very well received. The violinist, David Oistrach – to whom Shostakovich dedicated the work – remarked on the “depth of its artistic content”, describing the violin part as a “pithy Shakespearean role”. 

The concerto is complimented by Tchaikovsky’s cosmopolitan and tuneful Capriccio italien, and Borodin's dramatic Symphony No.2 on Russian themes, both works of great passion and beauty.

Concert Poster

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.