Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


St George's Bristol
Great George Street


Bedřich SmetanaThe Bartered Bride: Overture
Johannes BrahmsSymphony no.2 in D major, Op.73
Antonín DvořákCello Concerto in B minor, Op.104, B.191


Matthew Barley – cello
Stefan Hofkes – Conductor

Bristol Concert Orchestra

Programme Note

Dvorak's Cello Concerto is arguably the greatest of them all, and this magnificent work will be performed in this concert by internationally-known soloist Matthew Barley.
Also on the programme: Brahms's 2nd Symphony - known by some as his 'pastoral' and certainly his sunniest symphony - plus Smetana's effervescent Overture and Polka from The Bartered Bride.

There will be a retiring collection for The Forever Friends Appeal.

Matthew Barley

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.