Fore Street
City of London



Prices: From £12



Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Britten Sinfonia’s year-long composer development programme, Magnum Opus, comes to a climax with the premieres of new chamber concertos by Aileen Sweeney, Jonathan Brigg and Nathan James Dearden.

Now in its 30th year, Britten Sinfonia has been involved in the commissioning and performance over 200 words since its inception in 1992. Members of the orchestra are not only among the UK’s finest soloists and chamber musicians, but also among the UK’s finest interpreters of new music. The Magnum Opus scheme has been designed to allow three composers to develop their writing careers, giving them opportunities to engage with professional musicians and develop a year-long relationship with the orchestra. 

This event is the culmination of the 2021–22 scheme and showcases the composers’ final commissions, a concerto for a solo instrument of their choice and small ensemble, developed with the support of Programme Directors Dobrinka Tabakova and Joe Cutler.

Britten Sinfonia Magnum Opus Composers 2021-22 © Milly March

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.