Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


St James' Church
Sussex Gardens

W2 3UD


Alan RawsthorneDivertimento
Edward ElgarSerenade for String Orchestra in E Minor, Op.20
Ralph Vaughan WilliamsThe Lark Ascending, Op.50
~ Interval ~
Michael TurnerExplorations of Themes by George Butterworth
Ernest John MoeranSinfonietta


Madeleine Mitchell – violin
Michael Turner – Conductor

Bloomsbury Chamber Orchestra

Programme Note

Bloomsbury Chamber Orchestra is delighted to be joined by the fantastic Madeleine Mitchell (described by The Times as "one of Britain's liveliest musical forces (and) foremost violinists") for a performance of 'The Lark Ascending' by Vaughan Williams.

Also on the programme is the world premiere of 'Explorations of Themes by George Butterworth' by our own conductor Michael Turner, and works by Elgar Rawsthorne and Moeran.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.