Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


St John's Smith Square
Smith Square
City of Westminster



Antonio LottiCrucifixus


Graham Walker – cello
Rupert Gough – Conductor

The Choir of Royal Holloway

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Full programme
Lotti: Crucifixus (a8)
Geoffrey Gordon: Crucifixus for double choir & cello (UK premiere)
Lotti: Crucifixus (a10)
Leighton: Crucifixus pro nobis
Caldara: Crucifixus (a16)

This programme takes as its starting point the famous 8-part Crucifixus setting by the Italian composer Antonio Lotti, but also includes the more developed 10-part setting before concluding with the richly elaborate 16-part setting by Antonio Caldara – also from Venice but 100 years later. Geoffrey Gordon’s contemporary setting is inspired by Lotti’s masterpiece and creates a vivid soundscape with double choir and the plaintive voice of a solo cello. Kenneth Leighton’s 3-movement Cantata Crucifixus pro nobis breaks away from the liturgical text, setting a more visionary, mystical triptych of poems by the 17th-century writer Patrick Carey.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.