Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


St Matthew's Church
20 Great Peter Street
City of Westminster



Richard StraussMetamorphosen, TrV 290
Edward ElgarSospiri, Op.70
Johann Sebastian BachViolin Concerto in A minor, BWV 1041


Sofia Kolupov – violin
Tom Fetherstonhaugh – Conductor

Fantasia Orchestra

Programme Note

The strings of Fantasia Orchestra, described by the ArtsDesk as 'a thing of wonder', present a programme of Strauss, Bach and Elgar, conducted by Tom Fetherstonhaugh.

Fantasia Orchestra leader and Royal College of Music student Sofia Kolupov plays Bach’s Violin Concerto in A minor in what promises to be a thrilling ‘conductorless’ performance. Elgar’s ‘Sospiri’, a work of intense reflection written in the months leading up to the outbreak of World War I, is performed alongside Strauss’ monumental ‘Metamorphosen’ for 23 solo strings, a work with sublime melodic writing which creates a musical journey like no other. Don’t miss out! 

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.