Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


St Wilfrid's Church
Duchy Road
North Yorkshire


James MacMillanEcce Sacerdos Magnus
Charles Hubert Hastings ParryI Was Glad
Christopher BrownSeascape
~ Interval ~
Edward GregsonMake a Joyful Noise
John RutterGloria


Aoife O'Connell – Soprano
Andrew Mayor – Bass
David Lawrence – Conductor
Thomas Moore – organ

Harrogate Choral Society
Cobalt Brass
Northern Percussion Ensemble

Programme Note

Harrogate Choral Society will be joined by Cobalt Brass, the Northern Percussion Ensemble, Organist Thomas Moore, Soprano Aoife O’Connell and Baritone Andrew Mayor  - all conducted by the HCS Music Director David Lawrence – in an evening of exciting music.


The concert will include Christopher Brown’s Seascape – written fir chois in the South West of England the composer celebrates his 80th birthday this year and this is a true celebration of that; Parry’s I Was Glad continues the celebratory theme. The concert will include many other works including pieces for organ solo and for brass quintet and will conclude with Rutter’s Gloria – considered by many to be his best work.

Voices Organ and Brass image

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.