Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Stratford Playhouse
14 Rother Street
CV37 6LU


Jessica MontgomeryStarburst
Maurice RavelLe tombeau de Couperin, orchestra
Ottorino RespighiThe Birds Suite
Augustin GallotPieces de Luth Suite
Aaron CoplandClarinet Concerto
John Luther AdamsCanticle of the Sky: Sky with four suns


Michael Collins – clarinet

Orchestra of the Swan

Programme Note

Futuristic Americana and Inspiration from a European Past


Three generations of engaging Americana are represented in this concert, beginning with Jessie Montgomery’s smart and effervescent Starburst which achieves the perfect balance of edginess and accessibility; the slow burning, cinematic majesty of John Luther Adams’ Sky with Four Suns from Canticles of the Sky provides an ideal contrast. Aaron Copland’s Benny Goodman-inspired masterpiece makes a miraculous journey from doleful introspection to exhilarating jazz party.

Lutenist Jacques Gallot’s (1625 - 1695) Pièces de luth - presented here in a new arrangement for harp - was part of the source material for Respighi’s enchanting The Birds Suite in which he skilfully represents a dove, a hen, a nightingale and a cuckoo. Le Tombeau de Couperin, Ravel’s neoclassic homage to friends killed during the First World War also finds him looking to the past for inspiration, here in the form of François Couperin.


Register now and list your events

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.