Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Strawberry Hill House
268 Waldegrave Road



Stephen PaxtonSonata no.2 for Violoncello in D Major, Op.3
James CervettoSonata no. 2 for Flute and Bass in D Major, Op. 3
James OswaldThe Heliotrope Airs for the Season


Rosemar Edward – Violoncello
Mike Parker – harp
William Summers – flute

Programme Note

Flute, harp and ‘cello sounds like such an obvious combination to modern ears, that is hard to believe that it was was a relatively new concept in the 18th Century. Although all three achieved recognisable forms in the late 17th Century, each was undergoing rapid developments in construction and design and composers were beginning to explore the way in which their tones and timbres, quite unlike their modern counterparts, interacted with each other.

Here we explore a programme of music from the cutting edge on the late 18th Century, including a trio composed for harpist Edward Jones by J C Bach, sonatas with continuo by Abel, Cirri, and Paxton, and a selection of charming suites by James Oswald, each named after a seasonal plant of flower, and maybe a social dance tune or two.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.