Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


The Assembly Hall
Stoke Abbott Road
West Sussex
BN11 1HQ


Georges BizetCarmen Suite no.1
Jean SibeliusThe Swan of Tuonela, Op.22 no.2
Pyotr TchaikovskySleeping Beauty: Waltz
Jean SibeliusViolin Concerto in D minor, Op.47
William AlwynSymphony no.3


John Gibbons – Conductor
Nicola Benedetti – violin

Worthing Symphony Orchestra

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Finally the chance to hear Nicola Benedetti perform Sibelius’s awe-inspiring Violin Concerto in D minor. A special treat for an evening concert featuring popular hits by Bizet, Sibelius and Tchaikovsky as well as William Alwyn’s powerful Third Symphony – a work conducted on BBC Radio 3 by WSO’s Principal Conductor John Gibbons.

"…it was thrilling to hear and watch Nicola Benedetti in a truly risk-taking performance that lived so much in the body and fused the sinews of the violin and the nerve-system of the player."

Hilary Finch - The Times


Nicola Benedetti

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.