Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


The Courtyard
Edgar Street


Maurice RavelPavane pour une infante défunte
Maurice RavelLe tombeau de Couperin, orchestra
Richard StraussMetamorphosen, TrV 290
Richard StraussOboe Concerto, TrV 292


Michael Seal – Conductor
Nicholas Daniel – oboe

Orchestra of the Swan

Programme Note

We welcome the City of Birmingham’s associate conductor, Michael Seal – “one of the CBSO’s best-kept secrets” – to direct a concert that illustrates the differing ways two twentieth-century composers approached and portrayed death. As depressing as this may sound, it makes for some of the most glorious music ever written – Ravel’s beautiful “evocation of a pavane that a little princess [infanta] might, in former times, have danced at the Spanish court” being a perfect example. Richard Strauss’ heart-rending Metamorphosen for twenty-three strings – an elegy for the destruction of culture, written at the end of both the Second World War and the composer’s life (as was the Oboe Concerto) – though, will be hard to surpass.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.