Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


The Forge
3-7 Delancey Street



Peter Maxwell DaviesEtc.
Alasdair NicolsonMagnus III
John DowlandLachrimae antiquae
Peter Maxwell DaviesSonatina for Violin Alone
Peter Maxwell DaviesFarewell to Stromness


James Turnbull – oboe
Fenella Humphreys – violin
Sophie Mather – violin
Andrew Berridge – viola
Cara Berridge – cello
Alasdair Nicolson – Presenter

Ensemble Perpetuo

Programme Note

This event sees the launch of Ensemble Perpetuo’s innovative composer portrait series, BEYOND THE NOTES. Joined by the Artistic Director of St. Magnus International Festival, Alasdair Nicolson, Perpetuo will guide you through the life, influences and works of Peter Maxwell Davies.

This concert features a wide variety of Peter Maxwell Davies' solo and chamber works, from his 'serious' music, via community works written for local musicians in Orkney, through to wedding gifts for friends.  The programme also includes music that inspired him, from the renaissance on, as well as the London Premiere of Alasdair Nicolson's Magnus III for violin and oboe, written in memory of 'Max'.  Also included is a performance of Sonatina for Violin Alone which Peter Maxwell Davies wrote for our violinist Fenella Humphreys in 2015. The event is divided into 3 sets and offers a great opportunity to hear the music of Peter Maxwell Davies in a relaxed setting, offering unique insights into his life and the inspiration behind his music.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.