Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


The Forum
Grange Road
Malvern Theatres

Great Malvern
WR14 3HB


Edward ElgarString Quartet in E minor, Op.83
Edward ElgarPiano Quintet in A Minor, Op.84
Edward ElgarViolin Sonata in E minor, Op.82


Daniel Rowland – violin
Martin Roscoe – piano

Brodsky Quartet

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

This very special concert celebrates the centenary of the first performances of our Founder’s three major chamber works, all written in 1918. The Quartet and Quintet were premièred at the Wigmore Hall in May 1919; the Sonata was also performed at that concert, though had been publicly played two months earlier. Malvern Concert Club presented the Quintet in November and the Quartet in December 1919, the Sonata being first played here in 1922. Elgar dedicated the Quartet to the original Brodsky Quartet, in honour of the promise he had made in1900 to write a work for it – though by 1919 its members were aged around 70, and in the event the première was by a quartet led by Albert Sammons.

It is therefore apt that tonight’s performers are the modern Brodsky Quartet – which also played for the Club’s own centenary in 2003. 

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.