Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Trinity Church Centre
15 Nether Street
North Finchley

N12 7NN


Johannes BrahmsVariations on a Theme by Haydn, Op.56b (two pianos)
Ludwig van BeethovenSymphony no.8 in F major, Op.93
Johannes BrahmsDouble Concerto for Violin and Cello in A minor, Op.102


Francesca Barritt – violin
Rebecca Knights – cello
Tom Hammond – Conductor

Finchley Symphony Orchestra

Programme Note

The concert opens with Brahms’ popular ‘St Anthony’ variations, warm romantic music which is by turns lyrical, energetic and ultimately magnificent.  The concerto for violin and cello is rarely heard in live performance but will appeal to all lovers of Brahms.  Our fine soloists are Francesca Barritt and Rebecca Knight, two members of the acclaimed Lawson Trio.  Beethoven’s Symphony No.8 is cheerful, even jokey in places, shorter than both the seventh and ninth but still typical of the mature composer in being tightly argued and rhythmically vigorous.  We are delighted to welcome Tom Hammond as our guest conductor for this performance.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.