Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Trinity Henleaze URC Church
Waterford Road



Pyotr TchaikovskySouvenir de Florence, Op.70
Philip GlassString Quartet no.2 'Company'
Philip GlassString Sextet (arr. Michael Riesman)


Bristol Ensemble

Other concerts in this Series (+)

Programme Note

Tchaikovsky’s string sextet Souvenir de Florence was written following a visit to Italy and exhibits plenty of Russian passion and fervour, combined with Italian lyricism and brilliance. Scored for two violins, two violas and two cellos, it is symphonic in its sonority and texture, with plenty of opportunity to display the players’ virtuosity. In contrast to the thick textures of late 19th century Russia, Philip Glass’ String Sextet and Second String Quartet explore the soundworld of minimalism which despite its conciseness of material, is rich and compelling.

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.