Please note: This concert is in the past and has already taken place.


Turner Sims Concert Hall
University Southampton
Salisbury Road

SO17 1BJ


Felix MendelssohnHebrides Overture 'Fingal's Cave', Op.26
Edvard GriegPeer Gynt suite no.1, Op.46
Jean SibeliusFinlandia, Op.26
~ Interval ~
Antonin DvorakSymphony no.9 in E minor 'From the New World', Op.95


Lucia Švecová – Conductor

City of Southampton Orchestra

Programme Note

Join the City of Southampton Orchestra as they embark upon a magnificent journey around the world through the music of four giants of the Romantic period. We start off in Scotland via Mendelssohn’s evocative Hebrides Overture, crossing over to Grieg’s magical Norway and into Finland with Sibelius’s proudly nationalistic Finlandia. Our journey culminates in America with Dvořák’s iconic New World Symphony. An evening not to be missed!

City of Southampton Orchestra - Musical Journeys

Get a route map

Your Map

If you have any questions, please contact us using the form below, or send an e-mail to

All form fields are required.

Please check your details and try again.

Thank you for contacting us. We will contact you regarding your enquiry as soon as possible.